Menu
Millenium / Video Games Articles and stories / FGC /

Super Smash Bros. Melee: All about The CLG MIXUP

Super Smash Bros. Melee: All about The CLG MIXUP
0

Schedule, dates, times, streams, and results — here's all you need to know about the CLG MIXUP tournament taking place this weekend, where both grand finalists will earn tickets to the Slippi Champions League.

Super Smash Bros. Melee: All about The CLG MIXUP

General Information

Dates and Times:

  • Saturday September 26, 2020: stream starts at 12PM (PT) / 3PM (ET) / 8PM (BST),
  • Top 64 starts at 2PM (PT) / 5PM (ET) / 10 PM (BST),
  • Top 8 starts at 4.30PM (PT) / 7.30PM (ET) / 12.30AM (BST)

Location: Online, limited to USA, Mexico, Canada

Format: Double-elimination tournament, FT2 (BO3) except the Finals, which are played FT3 (BO5)

Prize Pool: $2000. The two highest placing players not already invited to the Slippi Champions League will be invited as the final two players in Division 2 of the League.

About the Slippi Champions League

Slippi is just about taking Super Smash Bros. Melee into another dimension.

Everything started when FIZZI#36, a software/computer engineer, created a Melee emulator that runs on PC, with integrated matchmaking, replays, and rollback netcode.

Tournament organizer Beyond the Smash has collaborated with FIZZI#36 to run a Melee championship during the pandemic. 16 invited players will compete across four weeks to identify the true champion of Melee.

There will two divisions, and each week 19 matches will be played. Each division will run a single-elimination bracket.

The top four in Division 1 will stay in the division, with the bottom four playing a relegation series.

The top four in Division 2 will advance to this Division 1 relegation series, while the bottom 4 will have to play relegation matches against the winners of open bracket qualifiers to stay in the league.

Invited players for Division 1: Mango (C9), Hungrybox (Team Liquid), Zain (Golden Guardians), Wizzrobe (Team Envy), iBDW (Panda Global), Plup (Panda Global), n0ne (UYU) and Axe (Tempo Storm).

The six known invites for Division 2 are: Ginger, Spark, Captain Faceroll, SFAT (Counter Logic Gaming), Albert (Tenacity Esports) and S2J (Beastcoast)

Tournament Bracket

 

Winner Bracket - FGC
Winner Bracket
Loser Bracket - FGC
Loser Bracket

Full bracket here.

Notable Players

Players

Team

iBDW

Panda Global

SFAT

Counter Logic Gaming

Spark

S2J

Beastcoast

Lucky

PewPewU

Counter Logic Gaming

Shroomed

Morituri Esports

Gahtzu

Revenge

Mango

Cloud 9

Hungrybox

Team Liquid

Streams

Slippi League Stream
Counter Logic Gaming Stream

Smash Bros. Ultimate reaches the 20 million mark in sales

After a spectacular launch in December 2018, Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is now the third best-selling game in the Switch store.

0

More Stories

22:28 Chris G may leave Dragon Ball FighterZ National Championship US West after one week
08:06 All you need to know about Dragon Ball FighterZ National Championship Japan
08:05 All you need to know about Dragon Ball FighterZ National Championship US East
02:50 All you need to know about Super Smash Bros. Melee Slippi Champions League
02:15 All you need to know about Street Fighter V Capcom Pro Tour Online Central America 2
01:59 All you need to know about Dragon Ball FighterZ National Championship USA West
01:57 All you need to know Dragon Ball FighterZ National Championship France
10:56 Rollback netcode coming to Guilty Gear XX Accent Core Plus R
04:40 All you need to know about Tekken 7 Online Challenge Australia
03:16 All you need to know about Dragon Ball FighterZ National Championship Spain

Recommended

Daigo Umehara to receive Esports Awards Lifetime Achievement award
Street Fighter League Season 3 revealed during SFV Summer Update
SoulCalibur Online Challenge: Schedule for the upcoming year

Discover guides

Genshin Impact Tier List: The best characters for October 2020
List of promo codes in Genshin Impact and how to redeem
Genshin Impact Nameless Treasure Secret Quest Guide